Glendora Cross Country

No Fear No Pain No Defeat

Glendora Cross Country - No Fear  No Pain  No Defeat

We are the (Baseline League) Champions


And you better believe we’ll keep on fighting, as long as we’re eligible to race.

Last Wednesday (I know, we’re really quite quick with the race reports sometimes), Glendora claimed FIVE Baseline League championships, including:

  • JV Girls Team
  • JV Girls individual (Micalea Lamb)
  • Varsity Girls Team
  • Varsity Boys Team
  • Varsity Boys individual (Jeff Kirwin)


Frosh/Soph Boys

  • Team placed 5th
  • Top 20 (because it’s a bigger field) finishes by Matt Joy (18) and Michael Hernandez (19)


JV Girls

  • Team drops a 1-2-4-6-7 finish on the field to claim the JV league title with just 20 points (lowest on the day), besting RCHS (52) and Etiwanda (74) – that’s 5 in the top 9 and all girls in before any other team had even 2 runners in (in XC we call that dominating your race)
  • As the winner of the race, Micaela Lamb is JV League Champ
  • Other top 20 finishes from Savannah Yi (2), Kathryn Cisneros (4), Kayla McGarrell (6), Lauren Kuehfuss (7), Sofi Rodriguez (9), Rebecca Ruiz (10), Mary Young (11), Madison Ko (13) and Emily DuPont (18)


JV Boys

  • Team placed 3rd behind Etiwanda and Los Osos (27, 44, 56)
  • Marcos Perez (3), Gregor Derstepanian (12), Richard Johnson (13), Josh Jackson (16) and Eric Netzeband (17) score Top 20 finishes


Varsity Girls

  • Team THREE-PEATS as League Champs by 21 points over Rancho Cucamonga (32-53)
  • Team time was over a minute better than last year’s league championship time
  • Top Ten finishes by Emily Hoey (2), Cori Harral (5), Taylor Butler (6), Alyssa Perez (9), and Tori Whitworth (10)


Varsity Boys

  • Team places 5 in the top 9 (and another 1-2 finish) to win the League Championship by a commanding 43 point margin, beating Etiwanda (70) and Rancho Cucamonga (73)
  • Team posts the best regular season time at Mt SAC in the last 4 years
  • Jeff Kirwin claims the title of LEAGUE CHAMP by finishing first
  • Top Tens (other than Jeff) for Parker Seale (2), Sam Johnny (7), Damon Payne (8) and Oliver Kashyap (9)




All Time Top Ten

  • Parker Seale improves to #7 all time on this course
  • Emily Hoey jumps to #5 and Taylor Butler is off the bubble, moving from 15 to 12


Important Links


Significant Time Improvements

I’m going to miss this space – we’ve seen some amazing growth this year, improvements that don’t “just happen” but that require persistence and continued hard work (sometimes in the face of adversity)

Over 0:30 improvement – Taylor ButlerAlyssa PerezGregor DerstepanianBradford KiddMarcos PerezParker Seale

Over 1:00 improvement – Michael Hernandez

Over 1:30 improvement – Watts Waddington

And then there are SEVERAL times that defy generalization: Julie Miller (2:06), Katrina Reynolds (3:18), Kathryn Cisneros (3:24) and Nicole Fuentes (5:06) – hmmmm where have we seen these names before


Athletes of the Meet

Andrew Kalaiji – Andrew always has a great attitude and positive comment before and after races.

Emily Hoey – Although it’s still a mystery where she gets her speed (it’s certainly not genetic), Emily has raced well this season.  She always trains and races to be the best she can be and is a perfect example of the work ethic needed to be a great athlete.

Category: Uncategorized